DSC_0474
We recently refinished an old oval dining table set we had and painted it “summer squash” yellow. It was a fun project to do with my husband. I wanted to make my own placemats for the table and so after a little research about what all I can use, I came up with this DIY that I think it turned out pretty good. It’s easy and quick and I think you can make this. This is my first DIY, so please bear with me and if some instructions are not clear, please leave a comment and I will try to explain it. Here it goes –

Materials you will require:

DSC_0463

  • Cloth (I used Michael Millers Kitchen collection), about 1/2 yard or less per placemat
  • Pellon 809 decor bond iron-on interfacing (You can also use a heavy weight fabric instead of this)
  • Heat n bond Iron-on Vinyl
  • Basic sewing tools, like cutting mat, ruler, scissors, sewing machine, and thread

The first step is to decide how big and what shape you want the placemats to be. I made 16X16 inch square placemats. Once, you know the size you can accordingly cut the fabric and interfacing pieces.

For each placemat I cut  2 pieces of 17X17 inch fabric. Also, you need one piece of either Pellon 809 decor bond or any other heavy weight cloth/interfacing to line up between the two pieces of fabric. This gives the placemat some thickness. Cut the interfacing a little smaller than the outside fabric. I had mine cut to 16X16 inches.

Once you have all the pieces cut, its time to assemble them. The interfacing I used in this project is iron-on, that is, it sticks to the fabric when ironed on it. So iron on the interfacing to the wrong side of one piece of fabric as per the direction on the package. If you are using a heavyweight fabric in between, then you can just put it in between the two outside pieces of fabric and follow the next step.

Now, with right side together pin the fabric+interfacing square together on three sides as shown in the picture below and sew it (with approximately 1/4 inch seam). Sorry for the dark pictures, I will try to take better pictures for my next project.

DSC_0468Once its sewn from three sides, turn it inside out from the side you did not stitch and fold that side about 1/4 to 1/2 inch as shown in the picture below. Run your machine through all four sides from the top (top stitch). You can also do this top stitch as a decorative stitch like a zig-zag or curve, as it would be seen on the placemat.

DSC_0471You are almost done. Final step is to use the iron-on vinyl on the placemat. This will help in easy cleanup of the mat and protect it from all the spills that your little ones (or their dad ;)) do. I found this heat-n-bond iron-on vinyl at Amazon.com and it is a really good product and not very expensive too. I am thinking about all the ways I can use it (diaper bags, just a bag, pencil bags, bibs, etc.).  Anyways, so once you have the placemat all sewn together you can then cut your vinyl according to the final product’s size. (I do not prefer to cut the vinyl while cutting the fabric initially because I am not sure what size my end product will be ;)). Iron on the vinyl on the placemat as directed by its package. I only laminated one side, but you can do both front and back on the placemat if you want. Ta-da! You are done and you have your own homemade placemats.

DSC_0474

Hope my instructions were clear, if not please leave a comment and I will try to make it clearer. Also, ask away any questions you have regrading this project.

Happy Sewing,
Richa :).

