Ladies, this is going to be our refashion month and this is the first post of our series. We would love to get ideas from you on what you are up to as summer ends and we venture into winter. Will you buy new clothes or refashion your old or never used sweaters, dresses, jeans etc to make them usable.  Yes, we all have those things we buy and never end up wearing!

I had a dress I got an year ago on the run, but had worn it only once  since I was not happy the way it fit at the top after I got it home. It had a blue top and grey/black bottom.  The best part was it was the nice stretchy thick fabric and soooo… perfect for a comfy formal skirt. I loved the feel of it. Since I was not getting much use out of the dress, I decided to refashion it to a skirt. I used a a-line black skirt I had to trace it over the dress. While cutting, I left a little 1/2 inch seam to take in at the top.

If you do not have an a-line skirt, take measurements from the chart as below:

measure_tips

picture courtsey:http://www.outerinner.com/blog/2011/09/07/formal-dresses-sizing-tips-from-outerinner/

For the skirt you need waist, hip and waist to hem measure. Use wait to hem measure (h)+ 1/2 inch seam to cut out the length of skirt from the dress.

photo 1 (3)

After cutting the skirt part out of the dress, turn the skirt inside out. Sew the cut raw edge with preferably a zig-zag stitch. The skirt is partly ready though a little  loose at the waist, it being a dress. Since, the dress was jersey material it had its own elasticity and hence i did not need to put an elastic or zipper at waist.

photo 2 (3)

Next, measure your actual waist circumference(w) and then waist to hip length (l).  Measure the current circumference of newly cut skirt(c). Then mark (c-w)/2 in from each edge. And mark a straight line from that point to point where it measured length l on side of skirt as shown in figure above.

Then sew a straight line across those markings as shown in figure below. Now again turn the skirt inside out and its ready to wear. I even wore it to work a couple of times and now its my go to skirt when i want to feel comfy.

photo 3 (3)photo 4 (3)

photo 1 (4)

The best part of refashioning the skirt from a dress was I could vary the length of my skirt to touch well below the knee. Please share your ideas or blogposts/links on your fun refashions here. Would love to see them. Happy refashioning!

