How is everyone’s summer going? We are getting adjusted to having two kids in the house. I am loving my time with my two boys and its so sweet to see them together. Our older one is going to a Mother’s day out program at our church three days a week for 4 hours every week. So at least that is some time I get for me to do house chores.

Today’s project has been a result of a need for this MDO program for Shlok. We are required to send some snack and lunch for him everyday from home. I had been giving him veggie straws and graham crackers as snacks in small zip lock bags and then decided to make this reusable snack bag. I didn’t have time to go buy anything extra for making it so I just searched my craft supplies and came up with it. But I think it turned out alright and this bag has velcro, so its easy to open by a 2 year old too and the vinyl laminate inside helps in easy clean up.. So here it goes.

DSC_0124 DSC_0119

You will need :

  • A piece of fabric for the bag,
  • Velcro (make sure you buy the sew-on velcro and not the no-sew one),
  • And I used my left over iron-on vinyl from an earlier project (the laminated table mats) but you can also use the PUL fabric. You can know more about the iron-on vinyl from my earlier blog post on the above mentioned link. And you can know more about PUL fabric from this link http://www.diapersewingsupplies.com/what-is-pul-eco-pul-fabric/.

DSC_0107

  • You will also need basic sewing supplies, such as scissors, sewing machine and threads.

Lets get started. First step is to decide how big the bag you want. I made a 5X7 inches bag. I used a fabric of size 11 X 7 and 1/2 inches. We will fold this fabric in half and it will become the bag. If you are using that iron-on vinyl then you will need that too of almost the same size. I used a 10 X 7 inches of vinyl.

DSC_0108

Next iron the vinyl on the back of the fabric as per the instruction.

DSC_0109

Next measure and pin the position of the velcros on both edges of the fabric (top and bottom). Size for my velcro was 5 inches. Pin them and sew them, making sure they are aligned with each other.

DSC_0114

Now the next step is to fold and sew (hem) both the edges to make them look neat (as in the picture below).

DSC_0116

Finally fold the fabric in half and with the right side inside, sew the two open sides shut to make it into a pocket. I am (trying) showing it with red lines on the next picture. Please excuse my weird hand gesture in that picture, I was trying to point to both sides of the fabric.

DSC_0118

Once that is done, turn your bag inside out and you have your bag ready!

DSC_0119 DSC_0120

Hope you will make it. And if you have any questions, don’t forget to leave us a comment and we will get back to you.

Happy sewing,

Richa.

