Hi all, today for chit chat friday I want to share with you all my version of split pea soup. Let me clarify that I am not a very good cook or anything and don’t always come up with recipes. I mostly follow Pinterest or my dear friend’s website “Curious Homecook” for my cooking adventures. But as the saying goes “necessity is the mother of invention” or something like that, this was one of those times when I came up with the recipe. My husband was into this “soup for lunch” trend for a while and that too no creamy soup, no potato soup, and many other no this or that soups, so you can see how it narrowed my choices. So after I was getting bored of making the chicken noodle, chicken wild rice and lentil soups, I decided to make split pea soup. I looked at several recipes on our trusty friend Pinterest and came up with my own which is kind of a mixture of many recipes.

.soup

This soup is chunky and full of flavor and it has BACON!!!! I know!!! Just look at the chunky, tasty goodness.

DSC_0585

Although you can remove the bacon if you are a vegetarian and it will still taste pretty good (If I say so myself).

So the secret ingredient for this soup is .. !!!drum rolls please!!!! Vegetable Bouillon. Yes this small bouillon has nice flavors. Also another ingredient is a dash of “Sriracha sauce”.

DSC_0582

Okay, so I will get striaght into the recipe. Please ask questions and dont mind giving me suggestions about this post as this is my first recipe post (hopefully not the last) and I may not be explaining every thing correctly.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of split pea (soaked for atleast 3 hours or overnight)
  • 3-4 Bacon strips
  • 1 vegetable bouillon
  • 3 -4 cup of chicken broth/vegetable broth/water
  • According to your taste or wish some celery, carrots, and garlic
  • 1 tomato (I used campari tomato, those are so flavorful I tell you. Once you go campari you can not go back to any other variety).
  • dash of Sriracha sauce
  • 1 teaspoon of oregano
  • 1 teaspoon of cumin powder
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil or bacon fat

Instructions:

Take a big pan and cut up your bacon and cook it in that pan. Drain the fat out put the bacon aside. In the same pan put olive oil or you can use some of that bacon fat. Chop the veggies and saute them in the pan for almost 5-7 minutes.  Now add all the spices (cumin, salt, pepper and oregano). Next put your peas and bouillon in the pan. Saute everything for 2 more minutes or so and then add the liquid (chicken broth/water). Lastly add the chopped tomato and Sriracha sauce and close the lid. Cook on medium low heat for 45 minutes or more depending upon the texture of peas you prefer. We like ours mushy so we cook it for 45 minutes. At this stage you can also use an immersion blender and blend the soup to make it more smoother. Once its all cooked add the reserved bacon in the soup and stir it and serve. You can eat it with some kind of bread for a nice meal.

DSC_0589

I hope you will enjoy making and eating this soup as much as we do.

Richa.

